Getting Perspective


“If you aren’t in over your head, how do you know how tall you are?” ― T.S. Eliot

A personal post.

The pressures of running a small business are different than any other kind of pressure I’ve experienced. The daily grind of trying to overcome market forces with what amounts to a sling-shot and five smooth stones has broken many a budding entrepreneur.

Everyone has their own way of handling stress & pressure. Some drink to excess. Some scream and yell, rant and rave. Me… I eat. It’s a family trait we’re quite adept at. When I was younger, I’d burn it off, but not anymore.

Last year I changed from a healthcare insurer to a medical sharing program (http://medi-share.org). It was cheaper and allowed me to avoid aspects of the new healthcare law I didn’t agree with. Great benefits with one drawback: they required a body mass index (BMI) of under 31%. Uh-oh!

Fortunately, we were accepted with one condition: I had to meet with a health coach until I met their health standards… Or, as my sons would call him: my fat coach.

I found myself reading Dr. Furhman’s book “Eat To Live”  (DrFuhrman.com) and have all but removed meat, fish & dairy from my diet, in favor of spinach, kale and broccoli. In spite of the pressure of working a small business, launching a major product, handling the on-boarding of an international partner, negotiating contracts with resellers, designing marketing messages, etc. and commuting 2.5 hours per day–I’m finally days away from meeting all of the health goals they’ve given me.  Blood pressure, weight, cholesterol levels, waist measurement, and exercise regimen, all taken in hand.

Why is it important?

Bronx, NY - I was just learning to play the guitar, and so was my Dad.

Bronx, NY – I was just learning to play the guitar, and so was my Dad.

My dad died at 51 years, 3 months, 19 days. I was 23. My youngest brother was 14. My Mom was 46. My dad’s gone 30 years this past April 5th.

This is an issue of cause and effect… I just can’t pound my body with stress and stress-eating followed by fad-dieting day after day, month after month, year after year without it having a seriously negative effect on my mortality. I want to see my boys get married. I want to know their children. The challenge for me is keeping my eye on the horizon-state while driving a plow through fallow ground during the day.

How do you handle it?

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one!'” – C.S. Lewis

Running an SBE is like swimming upstream, as soon as you stop you tend to go backwards. Time to get a swim buddy!

Danny Gallo, I am a Small Business Lifer, are you?
Managing Director, The Allasso Group

Leave a Reply

